Diane Setterfield. The Thirteenth Tale (2006)

Mir hatte der Roman gefallen … aber es ist auch schon eine Weile her, dass ich ihn gelesen hatte. Ich muss ihn wohl noch mal lesen. Demnächst.

buchpost

P1030389It was November. Although it was not yet late, the sky was dark when I turned into Laundress Passage. Father had finished for the day, switched off the shop lights and closed the shutters; but so I would  not come home to darkness he had left on the light over the stairs to the flat. Through the glass in the door it cast a foolscap rectangle of paleness onto the wet pavement, and it was while I was standing in that rectangle, about to turn my key in the door, that I first saw the letter. Another white rectangle, it was on the fifth step from the bottom, where I couldn’t miss it.

So beginnt der Debütroman der 1964 geborenen britischen Autorin, auf den ich durch mehrere Empfehlungen aufmerksam geworden war:

Diane Setterfield: The Thirteenth Tale (2006)

Doch vorab: Leider kann ich die Begeisterung nicht teilen, dabei hat der Inhalt…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 822 weitere Wörter

Kommentar verfassen

